On October 14, 2016, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) released the final rule with comment period to implement MACRA's new Quality Payment Program (QPP). To learn more about this plan, visit CMS here

For 2017, Eligible Professionals can choose between two payment models:

The Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and The Advanced Alternative Payment Models (APMs)

OrthoQCDR will focus on MIPS. The Four Performance Categories within MIPS
Stacks Image 9
When does MIPS begin?

The program begins in 2017, with payment adjustments beginning in 2019. Providers can “pick their pace of participation” by choosing one of the following four options during the 2017 transition year to avoid a negative payment adjustment in 2019:

*Only eligible clinicians who choose not to report any data during the 2017 transition year would be subject to the 4% penalty in 2019 (unless they fall under one of the exemptions outlined below).

Stacks Image 17
When do i report?

Whether you report as a "test", Partial or Full, we'll report for you in on or before March 31, 2018. The schedule below outlines the impact on your CMS payment adjustments in 2019:
Stacks Image 15
Are any providers exempt from MIPS?

Yes, the following providers would be exempt from MIPS:

1. Newly enrolled in Medicare (exempt until the following performance year)
2. Clinicians meeting a low-volume threshold ($30,000 or less in billed Medicare Part B allowed charges OR provide care for 100 or fewer Medicare Part-B enrolled patients in one year)
3. Clinicians significantly participating in "alternative payment models" (APMs)